mobile menu

2023 Teachers of the Year Awards!

Thursday, May 11, 2023 – Friday, May 12, 2023
'; 12:00am – 1:00am

The 2023 Teacher of the Year Finalists & Winners!

On April 20th, 2023, the annual SCISA Teacher of the Year Banquet was held at the Orangeburg Country Club.  Nine finalists, three from each division, were celebrated for their outstanding leadership as SCISA educators.  South Carolina Superintendent of Education, Ms. Ellen Weaver, addressed our guests with an enthusiastic presentation that focused on school choice initiatives, the evolving positive relationship between public and independent schools, and how we are all stronger together.  The night culminated with the announcement of our Lower, Middle, and High School division winners.  Congratulations to all nine of SCISA's finest educators!

Lower School

Teacher of the Year - Ms. Patty Gibbs ~ Augusta Christian School

Finalist - Mrs. Abbie Meadows ~ First Presbyterian Academy

Finalist - Ms. Patty Clements ~ Orangeburg Preparatory Schools


Middle School

Teacher of the Year - Dr. Jennifer Taylor ~ Thomas Hart Academy

Finalist - Mrs. Krystal Gill ~ Bethesda Academy

Finalist - Mrs. Leah Kiernan ~ Thomas Sumter Academy

High School

Teacher of the Year - Mrs. Tiffany Thompson ~ University School of the Lowcountry

Finalist - Mrs. Elizabeth Abrams ~ Hilton Head Preparatory School

Finalist - Mr. Chuck McCord ~ Wilson Hall